Winter Care Favorites: Creams, Exfoliants, Oils

comments 7
Beauty / Body / Face / Hair

Ah, winter! I love you because you make us want peppermint hot chocolate and fluffy scarves. But for this dry-skinned skincare blogger, sometimes winter means finding more effective products to make my skin and hair feel balanced.

Luckily, I have a list of the products that I have been using the most this winter and they are incredible ones!

1. MEOW MEOW TWEET : COCOA SKIN CREAM ($15)

Ingredients: *hempseed oil, *virgin coconut oil, *cocoa butter, *shea butter

*organic ingredient

Meow Meow Tweet : Cocoa Skin Cream

Meow Meow Tweet : Cocoa Skin Cream

I am absolutely loving the Meow Meow Tweet Cocoa Skin Cream as an all-over moisturizing balm and I reach for it constantly. It’s extremely creamy and melts into an oil almost instantly on body heat because there is no wax or hardeners in it. I use a little plastic spatula to scoop out a bit of the cream and apply it directly to the dry patch on the back of my hand, elbows and knees. I think it’s a luscious product- and it helps that the cocoa butter in the cream makes it smell like milk chocolate! I’d say the Cocoa Skin Cream is one of my best winter season finds for dry skin and I’m highly convinced that I’m in love with everything Meow Meow Tweet makes.

 

2. MAY LINDSTROM SKIN  : THE CLEAN DIRT ($60)

Ingredients:  White Halloysite Clay, Red Moroccan Rhassoul Clay, Red Alaea Sea Salt, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Sodium Bicarbonate, *Althaea Officinalis (Marshmallow) Root, *Rosa Centifolia (Pink Rose), *Calendula Officinalis (Calendula) Flower, *Cinnamomum Zeylanicum (Cinnamon), * Myristica Fragans (Nutmeg), *Syzygium Aromaticum (Clove), *Curcuma Longa (Turmeric), *Zingiber Officinale (Ginger), *Vanilla Planifolia Bean, **Theobroma Cacao (Raw Cacao).

*Certified Organic**Fair Trade Certified

May Lindstrom : The Clean Dirt

May Lindstrom Skin : The Clean Dirt

Dry exfoliants might be the best kind of product for banishing flaky dry skin.  May Lindstrom Skin’s The Clean Dirt is an incredible and luxurious dry exfoliant with warm spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, turmeric, ginger) that you can also find in winter baking treats! The most enjoyable part of the exfoliating ritual is breathing in the spicy, warm scent and watching the powder turn into a mousse when water is added. Once applied on the face, The Clean Dirt warms up your face and is extremely stimulating! I’m left with flushed and soft skin that is not totally stripped of its natural oils. The best thing about exfoliating with The Clean Dirt, is that your face will end up smelling like the spices even the day after.

 

3. YAROK HAIR : FEED YOUR SHINE ($24)

Ingredients: Pure sesame, coconut, roman chamomile, clary sage, atlas cedar and petitgrain oils.

Yarok Hair Feed Your Shine

My hair is always wanting for some luster and shine even in non-winter months. Yarok Hair’s Feed Your Shine provides a much-needed shine boost to my thick hair. I am constantly amazed that only a few drops of the hair serum can provide a kind of shine that conventional silicone-laden products would envy. And this is coming from someone who has been using silicone-based hair stylers for a long time before discovering a more natural routine. You can use Feed Your Shine sparingly like I do, and use it with another more affordable hair styling product that would give you hold and texture. For me, Feed Your Shine works well with another Yarok product, Feed Your Do (a creamy, whipped texturizer) because it helps define my waves without making it crunchy.

Q. What kind of products are in your winter care list? Do you reach for a moisturizing balm instead of a body oil? Let me know in the comments!

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

7 Comments

    • We won’t judge you, seriously! If you really do need an intense exfoliant that declogs pores and banishes dry patches, try it out! 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you think of Meow Meow Tweet, since it’s partially my fault (thank me)!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Cheers for a New Year! | Naturally Marcy

Leave a Reply

