The Skincare Tag

comments 6
Honest Talk

The lovely Mary from Pure Makeup Blog tagged me and I couldn’t resist sharing some of my thoughts with you. Check out her amazing blog and read her skincare tag for smart tips. Thank you Mary! I had so much fun writing this up.

DESCRIBE YOUR SKINCARE ROUTINE IN 5 WORDS.

Lazy but green and clean.

WHAT’S YOUR SKIN TYPE?

Normal to dry and pretty hormonal. I used to have an oil-spill of a face as a teen but as an adult it’s much drier.

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE SKINCARE PRODUCT?

Facial Oil Bonanza

Facial oils. If I was trapped on a deserted island, it would still be facial oils. Like I would have a fanny pack of facial oils and if I’d get delirious, I would call them my babies. I understand the cleansing routine is very important in a skincare regimen (and that’s why I’d say a dry exfoliant would be my second favorite skincare product), but there’s something really relaxing and good for the soul when applying an aromatic facial oil after cleansing your face.

TOP BLEMISH ZAPPER?

 wpid-20130918_110355.jpg

A miracle toner.

FACE WIPES – YAY OR NAY?

Nayyyy. I have my S.W. Basics of Brooklyn Cleanser and some organic cotton rounds that are just as good, if not better, than face wipes. Way cheaper in the long run too!

S.W. Basics of Brooklyn Cleansing Toning Duo

TONER – YAY OR NAY?

Yay. So much yay for toner. The S.W. Basics of Brooklyn Toner with raw apple cider vinegar helped me get rid of cystic acne. Whew, it’s pungent but it works!

HIGH-END SKINCARE OR HIGH-END MAKEUP?

High-end skincare with a little caveat. I rather not pay the price for high-end skincare because I have such a good bunch of products that are affordable.  I am more drawn to small batched apothecaries that give you the best in quality but don’t require you to sell a kidney for their products. Still, there are some really cool high-end products out there that I’d love to experience one day! And as of right now, I have a healthy mix of both affordable and high-end skincare and I’m really happy with them all.

WHAT’S THE MOST UNUSUAL SKINCARE PRODUCT YOU’VE TRIED?

I feel like anything from the green beauty world seems unusual to the mainstream folks don’t they? Like what? You put pure botanicals and OILS on your face?!

YOU’RE IN A PHARMACY AND YOU CAN ONLY PICK UP ONE ITEM, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

Organic extra virgin coconut oil. I could use it as a conditioning hair mask but also cook with it! Win-win!

WHAT ARE YOUR TOP SKINCARE TIPS?

1. Don’t sweat it if you’re not as “green” as other people seem to be. Just try to avoid the twelve dirty dozen nasties (parabens, phthalates, PEGs, petrolatum, etc.) and anything that you are allergic to, as best as your budget and sanity can hold up to.

2. Be barefaced once awhile and let your skin breathe. Sometimes my face looks the best if I don’t put anything fancy on it – just a quick scrub from my Dr. Sponge and a few drops of facial oil makes my skin the happiest.

~

Now that you heard from me, I’d like to tag Jade from the super cool Nephriticus blog to do the skincare tag next!

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

6 Comments

  1. Loved reading your answers 🙂 I’m addicted to face oils to, such a needed product, especially with dry skin! x

    Like

    • Tania, you are so sweet! I agree, us dry skin girls are especially lucky, with all those amazing facial oils out there! Thank you for reading and commenting!

      Like

  2. andreea says

    It was lovely to read your answers, and I love facial oils too, I think they are amazing and i started using them quite a lot about a year ago, and trust me they are amazing even if you have oily skin like I do.
    Kisses
    Andreea

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Andrea! I think it’s great that you found facial oils working for you. I hope you that using facial oils helped balance your oily skin.

      Like

Leave a Reply

