Brooklyn Brand Spotlight: Meow Meow Tweet

comments 7
Beauty

The “Made in Brooklyn” concept and aesthetic in skincare, clothing, and almost everything that can be sold, has never been more popular than it is now. As someone who lived in Brooklyn almost all her life, I get really excited when I hear of the success that small-batched Brooklyn companies are having right now. I wanted to bring that excitement to my blog and I decided I would regularly feature local Brooklyn brands that caught my eye.

Jeff and Tara of Meow Meow Tweet, have the right idea about making their brand as simple and caring, but genuinely authentic, as the “Made in Brooklyn” concept should be. Meow Meow Tweet creates personal care products that are vegan, cruelty free, and with ingredients that are certified organic, wildcrafted, and cold pressed or steam distilled. If that didn’t hit all of your skincare-needs buttons, what if I tell you they have products that are priced affordably too?

Yeah. And they work really well too!

Meow Meow Tweet Bonanza

Meow Meow Tweet goodies (L-R): Lavender Deodorant Cream, Calendula Chamomile Face + Body Oil, Face Exfoliant, Palmarosa Cedar Face + Body Tonic, Tangerine Lime Lip Balm

Products:

Deodorant Cream in Lavender

Ingredients: organic olive oil, organic virgin coconut oil, organic jojoba oil, organic shea butter, organic arrowroot powder, baking soda, kaolin clay, lavender essential oil

Meow Meow Tweet Deodorant Uncapped

The buzz on natural deodorant cream seems to be growing, doesn’t it? I was drawn to Meow Meow Tweet just because I heard how incredibly good their deodorant cream was! After testing it on regular days and extreme events (like painting and cleaning an entire room in the house), I can say that the deodorant cream is a must-have item. The strong, floral lavender scent tapers off into something lighter and sweeter on me (even after sweating a lot). It’s not an antiperspirant at all, but the deodorant cream is a very good deodorant. I am so pleased that even the smallest of dabs of deodorant cream is able to make my armpits smell good! This deodorant cream is a winner.

Face + Body Oil in Calendula Chamomile

Ingredients: organic sunflower oil, organic hempseed oil, organic jojoba oil, organic coconut oil, infused with organic calendula & organic chamomile, organic rosemary extract

Meow Meow Tweet Face + Body Oil Calendula Chamomile

I love the multi-purpose practicality of Meow Meow Tweet products. The Face + Body Oil makes my facial skin feel balanced (not tight and dry or overly moisturized) after exfoliating and applying toner, and also properly moisturizes the skin on the rest of my body. The Calendula Chamomile has no essential oils (making it perfectly safe for pregnant women and children) and this is most evident in the fragrance of the body oil. However, it smells fine on its own without essential oils – it smells like toasted coconut flakes with hints of that extra calendula and chamomile added in to it. Mmm, what a delicious aroma! The Calendula Chamomile Face + Body Oil is a delight!

Face  Exfoliant

Ingredients: organic oats, organic chamomile flowers, black walnut hull, kelp

Meow Meow Tweet : Exfoliant

I love how versatile dry exfoliant mixes are! Depending on what you need, a thicker paste for a mask or a more runnier exfoliating mixture, dry exfoliants are so much fun.  The Meow Meow Tweet exfoliant, when mixed with water, turns into a brown/black mixture (from the black walnut hulls) and is an incredibly gentle exfoliant. There are no hard crystalline substances like sugar or salt in the exfoliant that might aggravate acne or sensitive skin in here at all. Instead, the black walnut hulls are very finely ground and occasionally there are larger but still very soft oat flakes. The fragrance of the mix can really be only described as oat-y and softly floral from the chamomile flowers in it. My face was left soft and smooth, and the oats calmed some of the redness and itchy dry skin on my cheeks. The Meow Meow Tweet face exfoliant is one of the best exfoliant mixes I have ever tried and a must-repurchase once I finish up the adorable 1 ounce size.

Face + Body Tonic

Ingredients: witch hazel distillate, organic rose & lavender waters, vegetable glycerin, essential oils

Meow Meow Tweet Face and Body Tonic Palmarosa Cedar

I have to be honest when I say that the Face + Body Tonic in Palmarosa Cedar is not my favorite scent. It’s a powerfully woody kind of scent. I would say I’m more of a Bergamot Vetiver (warm, citrus) kinda gal. However, the tonic works really well. I spritzed it directly on my face after using the Face Exfoliant and really enjoyed the slight tingly sensation that comes from using an effective toner. Also, how cool is it that this tonic can also be used on the body? I haven’t thought to use toner on my body but it’s really refreshing to spritz some tonic on the body after a shower so the Face + Body Oil sinks in better.

Lip Balm in Tangerine Lime

Ingredients: organic cocoa butter, organic virgin coconut oil, organic hempseed oil, candelilla wax, essential oils of tangerine and lime

Meow Meow Tweet Lipbalm Tangerine Lime

My first thoughts on applying this lip balm went like this: “mmmm, creamy and lime-y.” The lip balm is delightfully citrus-y and creamy, but not excessively creamy as if it would melt in an instant if it’s too warm. I’m really pleased that I’ve learned to love vegan lip balms. Most of the time, I purchase lip balms that have beeswax but candelilla wax is just as good if not better than beeswax for holding the lip balm together. I’m a big fan of citrus lip balms, and this Meow Meow Tweet Tangerine and Lime lip balm hits the spot!

Overall thoughts: From the eco-friendly glass packaging, biodegradable labels, and affordable prices, Meow Meow Tweet is an excellent Brooklyn brand to discover and experience. Of the personal skincare line, the Face Exfoliant, Deodorant Cream, and Lip Balm are stellar standout products to try. Though if you’re not into skincare, Meow Meow Tweet has other cool stuff too: insect repellentsoap, and soy candles!

I like to think of Meow Meow Tweet creating simple skincare products, with a few smart twists in ingredients that tickle your skincare sensibilities (black walnut hulls, kelp, botanicals like chamomile flowers), that work. There is something sweet, refreshing, and quintessentially Brooklyn about the Meow Meow Tweet brand, and I’m absolutely hooked!

Intrigued and want to learn more? Click on this link and experience Meow Meow Tweet for yourself: www.meowmeowtweet.com

I also recommend going to Meow Meow Tweet’s About Us page and look at the pictures of their super cool Brooklyn studio where they craft their products!

~

Special Note: I purchased the Deodorant Cream and the Face + Body Oil myself, but Meow Meow Tweet were super sweet and sent me the other three goodies you see in this post. I just had to share the love and review the other excellent products.

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

7 Comments

  1. The exfoliant sounds amazing – looking for something to use on a regular basis alongside The Clean Dirt, and this could definitely be a contender!

    Mayah x

    Like

    • Thank you Mayah! Doesn’t The Clean Dirt foam up a bit and has a warming action going on? I have to say I might pick up The Clean Dirt eventually to see why everyone is raving about. But, I really love Meow Meow Tweet’s Face Exfoliant as a simple and wholesome oat exfoliant for days when my skin is dry and itchy.

      Like

  2. I was drawn to Meow Meow Tweet just because I love cats (haha), and it looks like they have a nice little range of green products. I like that their prices are pocket-friendly, and the face&body oil might just earn a spot in my wish list! 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Cheers for a New Year! | Naturally Marcy

Leave a Reply

