Indie Lee : Squalane Facial Oil Review

comments 2
Beauty

Product: Indie Lee Squalane Facial Oil

wpid-20130403_180707-1.jpg

wpid-20130403_180728-1.jpg

wpid-20130404_161903.jpg

This is about 3-4 generous-sized drops of Squalane Oil in the palm of my hand. The oil is colorless and this made it quite hard to take a picture of!

Ingredients: 100% Squalane Oil (Olive derived).

Thoughts:


Squalane Oil! Dear readers, have you ever heard of Squalane Oil?

Before trying out this product (which I won from the lovely Indie Lee’s Facebook chat), I had no idea what Squalane Oil was and I busted out my nerdy black glasses to go look up what this oil could do. According to my research and using the trusty EWG Skin Deep Cosmetic Database as reference, Squalane Oil is a naturally derived substance usually obtained from plants and animals. Squalane Oil is emollient and is suitable for helping retain skin’s moisture because of its similarity with skin’s natural sebum (much like my favorite Jojoba Oil).

Have no fear though Vegans and natural skincare enthusiasts alike! Indie Lee’s Squalane Facial Oil is Olive derived, not extracted from any kind of animal.
As you can see from the picture above, Squalane Oil is light and colorless (this makes it great for mixing it with other facial oils too!). I absolutely love that the oil is also fragrance-free. While sometimes I choose certain facial oils that give me aromatherapy by just putting it on, I have been reaching for this Squalane Oil because it is reliable and performs well. About 3-4 drops of Squalane Oil is enough to smooth over my entire face easily and banish dry flaky facial skin. Because of its light and smooth texture, I believe this is a great facial oil for those with oilier complexions and normal skin in the spring and summer months. Even my typically dry skin is perfectly happy with a bit of Squalane Oil!

I find myself looking forward to taking out the old-fashioned apothecary-style dropper bottle after I shower and in the daytime before I go to class. All in all, I think Indie Lee’s Squalane Facial Oil is a fantastic facial oil to try. For those of you who are still wary about putting oils on your face, Squalane Oil is a great oil to ease yourself into the wonderful world of facial oils. The oil is light, fragrance-free and not scary at all to put on your face. As for me, I’m extremely happy with Indie Lee’s Squalane Facial Oil and I’m at the point of my natural skincare routine where I can’t imagine myself NOT using any facial oils.

Retails: You can purchase Indie Lee’s Squalane Facial Oil for $32.00 USD at www.indielee.com

Q: Have you ever tried Indie Lee products? Or Squalane Oil? Let me know by commenting! Or tweeting me @naturallymarcy or shouting it across your rooftop (only slightly joking).

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

2 Comments

  1. I’ve read about squalane oil before but I thought it only came from animals, so good to know it can come from veg sources as well. Sounds like a wonderful serum. I’ve also read that it’s quite good on wrinkles (not that I have any…hehehe.) Great review!

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting Robin! I’m with you there! I’m extremely pleased to know that this Squalane Oil comes from a plant not extracted from animals. Hehe, I don’t have any wrinkles yet either but hey, we can always prepare can’t we? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

