New Stuff! Badger SPF 30 Aloe Sunscreen Lotion

comments 15
Beauty

Product: Badger SPF 30 Aloe Sunscreen Lotion, 4 oz. tube

Badger Aloe Sunscreen 1

I love that the new sunscreens come in a bigger 4 oz. tube!

Badger Aloe Sunscreen 2

Badger Aloe Sunscreen 3

Boy! I was too excited and squeezed out an extra big glob of sunscreen lotion.

Badger Aloe Sunscreen

Look how light and easy the sunscreen lotion spreads on my arm. It took literally seconds to smooth it in.

Badger Aloe Sunscreen 5

Tadaaaa! No thick white streaks were left on skin at all.

Active Sunscreen Ingredient:
Uncoated, Non-Nano Zinc Oxide 12%

Inactive Sunscreen Ingredients:
*Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe) Juice, *Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Oleosomes, *Sucrose Cocoate (from Coconut), Water, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Citric Acid (from Non-GMO Corn), Leuconostoc Ferment Filtrate (from Radish), *Glycerin (from Sustainable Palm), *Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe) Extract, Tocopherol (Sunflower Vitamin E), Gluconolactone (from Non-GMO Corn), Xanthan Gum, *Lecithin (from Soybean), Cellulose Gum.

* = Certified Organic
Total Organic Content: 87%

Other nifty things about this product:

  • Non-comedogenic (won’t clog pores). Psst, it definitely did not clog my pores and I didn’t break out at all!
  • Hypoallergenic (safe for the most sensitive skins).
  • Biodegradable and safe for aquatic ecosystems.

Thoughts:

Just recently, Badger came out with a new and improved line of sunscreen lotions – from the Kids Sunscreen to the Aloe and the Baby Sunscreen, these new sunscreen lotions boast a moisturizing and easy to spread on skin formula! And it comes with a great level of SPF 30 protection!

I was so excited to get my hands on the new Badger Aloe Sunscreen, I squirted a big glob of it on the back of my hand as you can see from the picture above! And this is partially because I was expecting a hard and tough blob of sunscreen to come out of that tube. I am no stranger to thick and hard to spread natural sunscreens so I was thrilled that the Aloe Sunscreen Lotion is the exact opposite of that.I put a decent amount of sunscreen on my face and as I was smoothing it into my face, I was thinking about how easy it was to apply. I have tried other popular brands of natural sunscreens but I always end up with a thick, streaky, and white layer of sunscreen on my face. However, I saw the Aloe Sunscreen Lotion disappear easily and my face did not resemble a ghost at all.

The texture of the Aloe Sunscreen Lotion is my absolute favorite thing about the product. The sunscreen lotion really is a daily sunscreen that is both moisturizing and easy to apply. As for the fragrance, it’s very similar to the other kinds of natural sunscreens with zinc oxide in them. If that sort of fragrance is not your favorite, I suggest trying out the Kids Sunscreen which has vanilla and sweet orange essential oils in it! I am told that the Kids Sunscreen has a creamsicle fragrance to it and who doesn’t love creamsicles?!

I am so glad Badger came out with these new sunscreens. I was always put off from putting on natural sunscreens because of their thick texture and being an extremely lazy person, I never wanted to spend 15 minutes smoothing it on my face. However, I don’t fear putting on natural sunscreens anymore, which is a great thing because it’s starting to get sunny here in Chicago. I have my Badger Aloe Sunscreen Lotion to make my sunscreen routine a breeze!

Purchased: $15.29 (Sale Price) during Badger’s preview of their new sunscreens. It was 15% OFF! Original retail price is $17.99 at www.badgerbalm.com

Q: Have you tried Badger’s new sunscreens? How was your experience? Let me know!

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

15 Comments

    • Actually, Jana you reminded me that I should probably add that I did not break out from the Aloe Sunscreen! The thick ones usually clog up my pores and it’s a terrible experience. I’m so glad the new Badger sunscreen didn’t break me out! 😀

      Like

  1. Sounds really nice!! I better hurry up finishing up my old tube of Badger so I can try out this new version!!

    Like

  2. I’m so happy that you’ve reviewed this! I’ve been wanting to try this since their Damascus rose one made me break out so I am hoping that I can wear this one and bypass any breakouts in the process. Great review. Xo, Audreiana from True Beauty By Nature

    Like

    • Thanks Audreiana! Please let me know when you try the Badger sunscreen and if it breaks you out. I was thrilled when I didn’t break out from the sunscreen, I broke out pretty badly from putting the Kiss My Face sunscreen on my face ironically!

      I remember commenting on your post about the Damascus Rose one in sympathy – I wanted to try the Rose sunscreen and I believe one day I will just to see how well it compares to the Aloe sunscreen.

      Like

    • Tania- Badger products are amazing! It’s fantastic that you are thinking of trying them out. Have you ever used a natural sunscreen before? If you like an orange/vanilla scent to your sunscreen, perhaps you should also see if you like the Kids Sunscreen 🙂

      Like

  3. I’m always on the lookout for natural sunscreens. This looks alright, and the fact that it absorbs easily is good. But does it cast of a ghostly white tint and does it tend to make your face look greasy afterwards? That’s always my misgivings about sunscreens, especially ones high in zinc oxide content.

    Like

    • Hi Kareen! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Personally, this sunscreen doesn’t leave a ghostly white tint and doesn’t give me a greasy face. My facial skin verges on dry so before I put on any kind of sunscreen, I put a light antioxidant facial oil. I find that if I don’t do this facial prep before sunscreen, the sunscreen streaks and flakes (awful imagery right?). So I have no problem with being just a tad greasy because my skin soaks it up right away.

      Like

  4. Ren Queen says

    I like Made from Earth’s Aloe & Jojoba Lotion a lot. My skin absorbs it instantly and there is a definite feel of hydration. I like the fact that it is hypoallergenic and free of any smell so that it doesn’t clash with a scent I’m wearing. Rough elbows and knees have a satin-like finish. The main ingredient is aloe & vegetable glycerin; never underestimate this powerhouse in terms of its ability to heal skin.

    Like

  5. Rachel says

    i also love this sunscreen, never thought i’d be able to find a natural sunscreen that was non-greasy and so easy to apply, even more so than any of the chemical ones I’ve tried. But the other day i tried to find it on iherb.com where i normally buy it and it’s not there anymore! Has it been discontinued?? I can see that tangerine kids one is there, is that just as good?

    Like

    • Hi Rachel! I believe it’s still okay to buy the sunscreen straight from Badger as I see it on their website. It’s possible iherb might not have it in stock so can you purchase it from Badger’s webiste? I love the Kids Sunscreen more than the original Aloe kind actually. The Kids Sunscreen has a great orange fragrance!

      Like

Leave a Reply

