Unboxed: Goodebox December

Leave a comment
Beauty

Goodebox December is curated by Sophie Uliano! She is a constant twitter presence and an eco-expert with several published books on natural and eco-beauty. The theme this month is anti-aging! The theme doesn’t really resonate with me (at my age) but I was decently pleased with the selection of products in the box.

Take a look below!

December Goodebox 1

December Goodebox curated by Sophie Uliano!

December Goodebox 2

December Goodebox unboxed!

Products:

1. bEST hAIR tIES eVER: Hair Tie in Cocoa (?) color

I was really surprised when I saw this hair tie. I have never owned an eco-friendly hair tie but now I do! It’s made out of super soft fabric so I do wonder how long it will last with daily use but because it’s so soft, it doesn’t snag on hair. Neat!

2. Blissoma Solutions: Amend Facial Solar Repair Anti-Aging Serum

The Amend Facial Solar Repair Anti-Aging Serum is chock-full of anti-aging ingredients like Coenzyme Q10, Acai, and Cranberry. The ingredients list is really impressive! The serum is thick and yellow-ish. I was at first turned off by its gloopy and yellow texture but it doesn’t have much of a strong fragrance. Hmm, weird and interesting at the same time. I think I’ll take the plunge and try it when when my face needs a boost from those anti-aging ingredients!

3. Essence of Vali: Sleep Concentrate

The Essence of Vali Sleep Concentrate smells amazing! I tested it out the day I got it when I was ready to go to sleep for the night. The Lavender and Cedarwood notes stood out the strongest to me and though it didn’t really help me sleep (I have no problems with sleeping at all!), the Sleep Concentrate smells really good! I think I’ll keep this sample to smell and maybe even use to perfume my room.

4. Furlesse: 11’s (Frown Line Reducing) Patches

I think I’ll pass on using these patches, seeing as I have no frown lines, but maybe I can give these to my mom?

5. Me & The Girls: Bar Beleza Multi-Use Beauty Bar

I initially thought this was a lip balm which got me all excited but when I discovered it was a multi-use beauty bar I was even more thrilled. It has cupuacu seed butter and tamanu oil in the ingredient list! The Beauty Bar has a variety of ways it could be used, from a spot primer to a cleaner and even just being a moisturizer for the rest of the body. I am definitely going to experiment and see if it really is a multi-use beauty bar.

6. Suntegrity “5 in 1” Natural Moisturizing Face Sunscreen, SPF 30 in Light shade

Yes! I’ve been wanting to try Suntegrity’s tinted face sunscreen/moisturizer for a long time. I can’t wait to test it out on a day when it’s sunny. Chicago has been miserably cloudy and dark so I will need to wait until I can actually use it.

7. Tilvee: Pomegranate & Acai Rejuvenating Mask

The mask was the product that surprised me the most. It’s in a pink and powder form! It made me laugh because I have never seen a mask in this color before. The card that came with the product recommended the powder to be mixed with either yogurt, smoothies, or argan oil. I was scratching my head but then had an aha! moment when I realized I did have a bottle of Argan Oil I can mix the powder with. Yes!

Thoughts:

I really liked December’s box. It reminded me of why I signed up for Goodebox- the amount of skincare products I got made me really pleased! I can’t wait to try out the Pomegranate & Acai Rejuvenating Mask, Bar Beleza Multi-Use Beauty Bar, and the Suntegrity Sunscreen. Those three samples stood out to me the most in the box.

I didn’t really like the Frown-line reducing patches and they made me think about those odd Green Tea capsules that were featured in the November box. However, I brushed it off. It was only one sample that I didn’t like but I had 6 others that made me really happy.

December’s Goodebox was a great box to end with the current year and I’m really looking forward to January’s Goodebox. Hopefully there are products in the box that I have never tried before. I’m definitely going to need some pampering skincare products so I can look my best for the New Year!

Purchased: Goodebox is a $16 a month beauty subscription. The subscription can be purchased at their website here: www.goodebox.com

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

Leave a Reply

