Single Goodebox Review

comment 1
Beauty / Body / Face / Hair

Goodebox is a well-established $16 a month beauty box subscription that focuses on eco-friendly, natural, and organic skincare and makeup products. Occasionally, you’ll find a mix of healthy foods or certificates to eco-friendly stores that aren’t focused on beauty.

Recently, they released a box called ‘Single Goodebox’ which gave those who weren’t subscribed a taste of what Goodebox has to offer. Because I have been following them for awhile and oohing and aahing at pictures of the non-single Goodeboxes on other people’s blogs, I was really excited when I found out I won one in a Facebook contest. So I would have to thank both Goodebox and Organic Authority for sponsoring that Facebook contest and allowing me to try what Goodebox offers. (Being stuck at the computer for hours really gets you things, huh.)

The good, “GOODE” thing is, because of the Single Goodebox, I decided to subscribe to Goodebox. So now you’ll see monthly reviews on what I get! Exciting!

Product: Single Goodebox (8 various sample items)

Single Goodebox- 8 sample items all here.

Thoughts:

Many of these items appeared in previous Goodeboxes. I believe I saw the Benecos Eyeshadow Pencil, Bodhi Sugar Scrub in June Goodeboxes. At first I was a bit skeptical about receiving goodies that were featured before, I began to see why the Single Goodebox is a good offering regardless of what it has. For those who received these items as subscribers, they could pay a bit more and try them out again!

Miessence Sunflower Body Wash (50 ml. 1.7 fl. oz)

Ingredients: *Organic aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice, coco glucoside, *organic helianthus annus (sunflower) seed oil, non-gmo xantham gum, *organic citrus dulcis (sweet orange) essential oil, *organic citrus limonum (lemon) essential oil, *organic citrus aurantifolia (lime) essential oil, citric acid, citrus aurantium amara (bitter orrange) fruit extract. *Certified Organic Ingredient

The product name gives it away really! It is a very “sunflower” like body wash. It has a strong, bright, and citrus fragrance. I love body washes that have citrus notes to it because I think it perks you up when you’re taking a shower. This sample is perhaps the biggest one in the Goodebox. Yay for deluxe-sized samples!

Emtage Hair SILKtage Rejuvenating Styling Serum (0.17 fl. oz/5 ml)

You may have heard me gush about it before, but Emtage Hair SILKtage Rejuvenating Styling Serum is my all-time favorite hair serum. A couple of drops before styling and after styling, my normally frizz-prone hair has been tamed. I already own the full 3.4 oz size but I’m going to hang on to this petite sample in case I have to travel and can’t bring the big one with me.

Alima Pure Luminous Shimmer Blush in Freja AND Alima Pure Bronzer in Belize

Left: Bronzer in Belize
Right: Blush in Freja

Buddha Nose Bodhi Sugar Scrub Organic Body Cleanser (1 oz) –

The sugar scrub doesn’t have much color to it but it’s very fragrant.

Ingredients: Organic Sugar, Organic Tapioca Starch, Citric Acid Powder USP, Vegetable Glycerin, Organic Potassium Cocoate, Cedrus atlantica (Cedarwood Oil), Cinnamamum camphora (Ho Wood oil), Juniperus communis (Juniper berry oil), Boswella carteri (Frankincense Oil)

Sugar scrubs! This particular sugar scrub has a strong earthy fragrance from the Juniper berry oil and the Frankincense. The amount of sugar scrub is good enough for only a small patch of your body (maybe your legs) but I tried it out on my face. It does a good job of exfoliating all my flaky dead skin and left it quite soft.

COOLA Suncare Mineral Face Sunblock Matte Finish SPF 30 in Cucumber (.169 fl. oz/ 5 ml.)

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (sunblock) 6.3%, Zinc Oxide (sunblock) 3.5%

Yay for COOLA! I’m really excited I got a sample of COOLA sunblock because I’ve been meaning to get my hands on it. The sunblock is matte, but I find if I hydrate my dry skin before with a facial oil, the sunblock sinks right in with no problems. The cucumber scent makes it smell fresh and clean. I would definitely repurchase the full-size sunblock.

Benecos Natural Creamy Eyeshadow Pencil in Lilac- I’m sorry I did not get a good picture of the eyeshadow swatch. My makeup swatching skills are very very poor. The Lilac shade is a soft metallic purple with a hint of shimmer. It is indeed a very creamy eyeshadow pencil. If only the eyeshadow came in a smoky brown or black color, I would have worn it myself.

Natural Vitality Natural Calm Raspberry-Lemon Tea (1 packet) – As I only drink black teas (English Breakfast, Assam, Ceylon, and occasionally Earl Grey), I don’t think I’ll be drinking this tea. I don’t really know why, but I hate the taste of fruity or herbal teas.

~

Final Thoughts: I appreciated the mixture of skincare and makeup goodies featured in Goodebox. Though I would of course liked to see MORE skincare products, I think most people would be satisfied with what they will see in a Goodebox, regardless of which they want to see more. Now I’m super excited to get a “real” Goodebox. Come back in November and see me review it!

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

