Mini Whole Foods Chicago-South Loop Haul

comments 5
Adventures / Beauty

Hello there! It’s been a rough week since classes first started but I’m already loving Chicago and my university. I managed to find some free time to get myself to a local Whole Foods, and the South Loop location was the closest!

Whole Foods Chicago- South Loop. A gigantic building.

HAUL! From Left to Right: Acure Organics Argan Stem Cell Leave-In Conditioner, Jason Naturals NutriSmile Enamel Defense Mouthwash, Hugo Naturals Lip Balm in Pineapple Coconut, Acure Organics Facial Cleansing Creme Argan Oil + Mint

A few words on Whole Foods Chicago:

While I was thrilled the South Loop location had an entire shelf just for lip balms, the rest of the store’s Whole Body layout was frustrating. I couldn’t take a picture of said amazing lip balm shelf because I didn’t want to look like a creeper but it really is a lip balm shrine. One of my favorite parts of walking around the Whole Body area is having room to flail around and move in and out looking and comparing products. Instead the South Loop location has cramped aisles, and it was hardly enough to fit a cart through. I miss Whole Foods Chelsea’s layout- an entirely separate building just for Whole Body skincare products.

On the Haul:

YES! This was a truly amazing haul. There was a 20% discount on all Acure Organics’ products so I snagged two: the Argan Stem Cell Leave-in Conditioner and the Facial Cleansing Creme Argan Oil + Mint. I had a chance to try out the Facial Cleansing Creme almost immediately ( I couldn’t wait at all!) but the fragrance of the product made me hate the product entirely. It does have an amazing list of ingredients but the smell is just awful. I’m contemplating doing a full review of the product but I don’t know if I want to subject myself to the awful smell again. I’m hoping the Leave-in Conditioner does not smell terrible too.

The Jason Naturals NutriSmile Enamel Defense Mouthwash was a great buy! It retailed for $9.99 and I managed to get it for $5.99. The Orange Cinnamint is such a fun flavor. I felt like I chewed cinnamon gum and the mouthwash does not have the icky ingredients or nasty burn of non-natural mouthwashes. I love love sales like these.

But the best sale of all led me to get a Hugo Naturals’ Pineapple Coconut Lip balm for only $.99. YES. $.99. I was literally beaming at checkout. The lip balm was discounted to $1.99 from $3.99 but the promotional Whole Foods flyers had an extra $1.00 OFF Coupon. Always, always check flyers and even on the Whole Foods websites because you never know if there are coupons for you to save money!

I will be going back to Whole Foods Chicago-South Loop because it’s simply the closest and easiest for me to get to. Oh only if the layout of the building was good as Whole Foods Chelsea or even Union Square. Big, sprawling aisles dedicated to skincare goodies. I really miss New York City’s Whole Foods.

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

5 Comments

  1. I wish that Whole Foods in Canada carried Acure. So many natural beauty bloggers have been talking about their products! I want in!

    Like

    • ecobeaut says

      What?! Is there anyway you can get your hands on Acure? Their line has hit or miss products but they are very affordable.

      Like

      • I can only order it online unless one of my fave health food stores starts carrying it. I’ll see which products you rave about before investing :p

        Like

      • ecobeaut says

        That’s it. I’m abusing (my non-existent) powers to demand access to more products for Canadians! America rise up!

        Like

Leave a Reply

