Alba Botanica Natural Hawaiian Shampoo/Conditioner Drink It Up Coconut Milk Review

comments 3
Beauty / Hair

I’m thrilled every time I manage to purchase something from Alba Botanica’s Natural Hawaiian line. It’s always affordable and smells like everything fruity and tropical mashed up together.

The seriously amazing Nicole from EcoChicBeautyDiva has been asking me to do this review. Being the lazy butt I am, I needed her prodding to actually go ahead and do it. So go and thank her! And while you’re at it, check out her amazing reviews. Sometimes I feel like Nicole is my blogging-soul sister because she reviews all the things that I’ve actually thought about buying. 🙂

Product: Alba Botanica Natural Hawaiian Shampoo/Conditioner Duo in Drink It Up Coconut Milk, 12 fl. oz each bottle.

Alba Botanica Shampoo/Conditioner Duo Drink it Up Coconut Milk

Drink It Up Shampoo. It was quite hard trying to take a good picture of the shampoo! It’s clear and very very runny.

Drink It Up Conditioner

Ingredients:

Shampoo- Aqua (Water), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate, Sodium Chloride, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil (1), Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (1), Ananas Sativus (Pineapple) Fruit Extract (1), Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract (1), Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract (1), Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Fruit Extract (1), Macrocystis Pyrifera Extract, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract (1), Babassu Oil Polyglyceryl-4 Esters, Citric Acid, Dimethicone, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Panthenol, Sodium PCA, Sodium Phytate, Sodium Sulfate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alcohol (1), Benzyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Coumarin, Fragrance (Parfum)

(1) Certified Organic Ingredient

Conditioner- Aqua (Water), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (1), Behentrimonium Chloride, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Amodimethicone, Aleurites Moluccana Seed Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil (1), Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil (1), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (1), Ananas Sativus (Pineapple) Fruit Extract (1), Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract (1), Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract (1), Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Fruit Extract (1), Macrocystis Pyrifera Extract, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract (1), Citric Acid, Glycerin, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Panthenol, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Phytate, Alcohol (1), Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Coumarin, Fragrance (Parfum)

(1) Certified Organic Ingredient

Thoughts: The Alba Botanica Natural Hawaiian Drink It Up Shampoo is basically a Piña Colada (a creamy alcoholic drink with coconut milk, pineapple juice, and Rum) in the form of shampoo. I accidentally left it near my bathroom window where it chilled up the shampoo and putting it on my head was like pouring said icy-cold Piña Colada all over myself. (Note: Please do not try to drink this shampoo, no matter how delicious-smelling it is!) From my picture you can see how peculiar the texture of this shampoo is. Not only is it clear, it is very runny. The viscosity of the shampoo is only a little bit thicker than water and most of the shampoo ended up on the bathtub floor as I tried to rub it in to my hair. I got over that fairly quickly because again, Piña Colada in my hair. The lack of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate makes this shampoo harder to foam up properly. If you want that luxurious, foaming experience, then this is not the shampoo for you. You have to use quite a lot of product to get it to saturate your entire head because it can’t quite foam up as good as SLS-ladden shampoos. The shampoo cleans my hair and scalp well and I was satisfied with the shampoo. I was a bit worried seeing Sodium Laruyl Sulfoacetate as an ingredient but doing research on the EWG Database, it doesn’t seen as bad as Sodium Lauryl/Laureth Sulfates. If you know more about Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate and if it’s indeed harmful, please let me know!

The conditioner, thankfully, is a lot more easier to apply. It’s creamy and has less of that knock-out Piña Colada fragrance but it does the job very well. My hair was left moisturized and soft after using the conditioner so I was very pleased. I liked the conditioner more than the shampoo for practical reasons. Again, being the lazy person I am, sometimes I use a conditioner just by itself. And I think that’s actually a very good idea for those who have dry hair because conditioner can clean your hair without stripping all the moisture away.

If you are looking for a shampoo and conditioner duo that smells amazing, keeps your hair moisturized, you will love Alba Botanica’s Natural Hawaiian Drink it Up products. For me, the conditioner is a definite repurchase. If you are looking for a shampoo/conditioner that is formulated to increase volume, color, and gloss, there are other Natural Hawaiian products for that. Isn’t that exciting? Go forth and try them all!

Psssst. Don’t forget to come back and let me know how you liked the Natural Hawaiian haircare line okay?

Purchased: $6.59 USD (sale price) at Whole Foods Chelsea

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

3 Comments

  1. FINALLY! Lol. Aww thanks doll, you are too sweet!
    So I must try the conditioner at some point because I love the tropical scents. I hate runny shampoos so this was a super helpful review! For 7 bucks though, what an amazing deal. Xo!

    Like

    • ecobeaut says

      Don’t they!? I was actually going to pick up the So Smooth Gardenia one except my mom was like you’re going to need the Coconut one. >_> Moms. I hope you get to try the Coconut though, it really is a great scent and shampoo/conditioner. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

