Dark Side of My Nails: Essie nail polish in Licorice

comments 2
Beauty

Honestly, I’m not huge on following nail color trends. I like my forever classy red, cement gray, and black shades too much to try other colors. In fact, my grandmother has more fashion forward nails than myself! She’ll be sporting electric pink nails and I’ll just be slightly scandalized because she has cooler nails than me. HOLY COW MY GRANDMA IS COOLER THAN ME!

I like Essie in particular because it has a small enough bottle for someone who gets bored of the same nail color really quickly (me, me, you?), and is readily available for purchase in most drugstores and beauty stores.

Product: Essie Nail polish in Licorice, 0.46 oz./13.5 ml.

Essie nail polish in Licorice

Hmm, slim brush.

One coat of polish. Look at that gloss!

Ingredients: Ethyl Acetate, Butyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Propyl Acetate, Tosylamide/Formaldehyde Resin, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Triphenyl Phosphate, Ethyl Tosylamide, Camphor, Stearalkonium Bentonite, Diacetone Alcohol, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Benzophenone-1, Alumina, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Silica, Citric Acid, Tin Oxide, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Aluminum Calcium Sodium Silicate, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Dimethicone. (D44247/2).

Thoughts: The Licorice shade is described as a “beguiling jet black cream” on the Essie website, and its honestly a lovely black nail polish staple for me. It’s a standard glossy black nail color. For some reason, “jet black cream” is a description of a matte black shade, which Licorice is definitely not. It took only one coat to achieve a nice wash of color but two coats makes it look even more glossier.

The only thing I didn’t like about Essie nail polishes, is that the brush is quite small. It took at least 4-5 swipes of the brush to coat one nail. And if you don’t get a decent size glob of polish on your brush, the polish will streak on your nails. But Licorice is a decent nail polish for those who always need a black nail polish on hand. I just love how glossy it is. Neat!

Purchased: $8 at Walgreens, my local drugstore

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

2 Comments

    • ecobeaut says

      Yes! Essie does brilliantly in pastels and neutrals. In fact, the Summer 2012 line has a cute powder blue in it. I’m more of a Illamasqua girl, and you’ll have to pry DWS from my hands but Essie satisfies my feminine side. Thanks for stopping by Naomi! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

