My Current Hair Routine (aka my epic battle with the Frizz Goliath)

comments 3
Hair

Ahhh, the Frizz Goliath. My battle with this epic monster has never been won, the score is probably set at Frizz: Gazillion v. Me: 0.

My three weapons- I mean *cough* products that I have been using can be seen below. I personally believe its absolutely crazy for me to use that many products but somehow the combination of these three works the best taming my coarse, thick, and wavy hair. I love my waves, I really do. Though there are definitely days when I wish I had normal pin-straight Asian hair instead of inheriting some sort of mutant hair gene.

However, none of these hair products tame my frizz for the long run. After my damp hair is styled, it only takes a couple of hours for the Frizz to come back and my waves are left dry and undefined. They are decent enough products on their own right but my hair is just too stubborn.

(From L-R): Renpure Organics Argan Oil Deep Penetrating Oil Treatment, Lacoupe Orgnx Moisturizing Styling Creme, The Body Shop Brazil Nut Define & No Frizz

1) Renpure Organics Argan Oil Deep Penetrating Oil Treatment- ($6 USD)

Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Dimethiconol, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Oil, Fragrance

I was a bit skeptical of this product because Argan Oil is fourth on the list of ingredients. In the picture you can see a river of the oil escaping for freedom! I don’t think it’s very effective as a Deep Penetrating Oil Treatment. It might be more “deep” for normal/straight hair types but it’s certainly not “deep” enough for my coarse and wavy hair.

2) Lacoupe Orgnx Moisturizing Styling Creme- ($9.99 USD)

Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Moringa Oleifera (Moringa) Seed Oil, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil, Orbibnya Oleifera (Babassu) Seed Oil, Olea Europea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Extract, Citric Acid, Parfum/Fragrance, Phenylpropanol, Propylene Glycol, Methylisothiazolinone, Linalool, Limonene, Alpha Isomethyl Ionone, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 4.

The Lacoupe Orgnx Moisturizing Styling Creme seems like a very impressive product. It boasts Certified Organic Botanicals, Argan, Olive, and Babassu Oils in its ingredient list. However, since this product is made in Canada, I’m not sure how Organic Certification works on Canadian goods. The ingredient list tells me nothing! Usually US products have asterisks on each ingredient that is actually Certified Organic.

As for its effectiveness as a moisturizing styling cream, it does a decent job of shaping my wavy curls. I’d like it to have more of a superior hold because I can see hair escaping from the formed waves but creams generally have less hold than gels or waxes.

3) The Body Shop Brazil Nut Define & No Frizz- ($12 USD)

Ingredients: Water, Cyclomethicone, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sodium Chloride, Bertholletia Exclesa (Brazil Nut) Oil, Dimethicone Copolyol, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, PPG-3 Myristyl Ether, Propylene Glycol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Rosa Canina (Dog Rose) Hips Oil, Potassium Sorbate, Propylparaben, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Oryzanol, Hypericum Perforatum Extract, Achillea Millefolium (Yarrow) Extract, Panax Ginseng (Ginseng) Extract, Tocopherol, Caramel

The Body Shop Brazil Nut Define & No Frizz styling product was an impulse buy. I couldn’t resist snatching it with my purchase of the Jumbo tub of their Coconut Body Butter. The product comes out like a glob of melted ice cream and even smells like vanilla ice cream. I think it does a good job of giving my hair some moisture but I can’t wear it alone. I needed to add some of the Renpure Organic Argan Oil to give my hair more shine.

Thoughts: I will not repurchase any of these products again. Firstly, none of them are actually all-natural styling products. Their ingredient list betrays all sorts of icky ingredients like artificial colorings, parabens, and fragrances. And secondly, they don’t actually beat the Frizz Goliath.

Well, I’m still on the lookout for my Holy Grail styling product!

Oh wonderful readers, what are some frizz-fighting styling products that have actually worked for you? Let me know please!

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

3 Comments

    • I did a quick search and looked up the ingredients for that oil. It doesn’t seem to be pure 100% argan oil as it has dimethicone and synthetic fragrance in its ingredient list, which are things I want to stay away from using. Right now, I’m using Yarok’s Feed Your Shine, which is made up of pure sesame, coconut oils, and it seems to have finally calmed my frizz! Thank you for your suggestion though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

