Review: Alba Botanica’s Natural Hawaiian 3-in-1 Clean Towelettes

Leave a comment
Beauty

I’m a terrible sucker for new things. When my favorite skincare companies come out with newer products with words strewn all over it for example “new,” “NEW!,” “NEW,” “EVEN NEWER,” “SO NEW NO ONE HAS IT,” I shriek internally and somehow the product is already in my hands. My eyes shiny and moist, I am heading towards the cashier counter like an unburdened arrow towards its target.

What I just wrote, was an accurate portrayal of myself when I discovered Alba Botanica’s moist towelettes just a couple of days ago in Whole Foods Chelsea. I love moist towelettes, especially in this hot weather we’ve been having in New York. You find all the sweat and gunk accumulating on your face just swiped off easily with a moist towelette.

Product: Alba Botanica’s Natural Hawaiian 3-in-1 Clean Towelettes, 30 count towelettes (7″ x 7.5″/17.8 cm x 19.1 cm)

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Glycerin, Polysorbate 20, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice(1), Ananas Sativus (Pineapple) Fruit Extract, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Enteromorpha Compressa Extract, Hedychium Coronarium Root Extract, Barosma Betulina Leaf Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Allantoin, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Babassu Oil, Polyglyceryl-4 Esters, Caesalpinia Spinosa Gum, Panthenol, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Sodium PCA, Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Allyl Caproate, Allyl Heptanoate, Lauraldeyde, Triethyl Citrate, Vanillin, Citral, Limonene, Linalool. (1) Certified Organic Ingredient

Deep Pore Purifying Pineapple Enzyme

Alba Botanica Natural Hawaiian 3-in-1 Clean Towelettes

Towelette after wiping foundation and concealer off face

Thoughts: I am in love with these soft and sturdy towelettes. They are natural and have a clean, sweet scent to them. I can’t quite place the scent exactly, and it doesn’t exactly smell “hawaiian,” I still like the fragrance. Though these wipes are not drenched in moistness, I think they are moist enough to do a good job of wiping my face and neck area. You can see in the second picture, I had been wiping off my day makeup and I think these wipes are amazing at taking it all off. I’m not quite sure if they’re “deep pore purifying” as they say, but after using these wipes, I had absolutely no makeup residue left. My face was left a bit tingly, though not tight and I believe it was because of the pineapple enzymes in the wipes. I did have to put on moisturizer after, just like I would do after washing my face the traditional way with a facial cleanser.

Alba Botanica states that these 3-in-1 wipes replace the trinity of makeup remover, cleanser and toner. I don’t usually use a toner after my cleansing/makeup removing ritual but these wipes could easily replace all 3 steps if you’re traveling and in a rush.

I think they are affordable compared to the Olay’s or Pond’s moist towelettes that usually retail around $6-8 in drugstores near me and contain the same amount of wipes. I would definitely repurchase these wipes over other drugstore wipes. And I think they are lovely enough for me to tote them on my camping trip to Upstate New York in a couple of weeks.

Purchased: $5.99 at Whole Foods Chelsea

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

Leave a Reply

