Post: Diary of a Lip Balm Addict: Saga Part Two

Leave a comment
Beauty / Musings

I have more terrible secrets to tell you about my addiction, dear readers.

I have never finished a lip balm in my entire life. You would be horrified at the sheer number of discarded Chapsticks, Lip Smackers, and nameless shadowy lip balms that have been left in my destructive wake. I am ashamed to admit I get terribly bored with whichever current ones I am using. I keep on telling myself, “Yes this is the one, the one lip balm that will make you happy and content,” but I find myself disenchanted and start searching for my next lip balm soulmate.

And now that I’ve started to solely use natural beauty products, natural lip balms pose an even greater risk of abandonment. (Fact alert: I have already abandoned/lost 3 Burt’s Bees lip balms so far.)

While you may laugh at the girl who actually gets a bit teary at the natural lip balm section in Whole Foods Chelsea’s Whole Body shop, I am proud to say I am very close to finishing two natural lip balms in my possession. Not just one, but TWO.

almost finished lip balms

There is something about these two lip balms that made me stick to them and not give up using them. Yes to Carrots Color Balm in Soft Plum ($5.99 at Target) is an amazing hydrating lip balm that gives you a pigmented wash of plum red that beats most lipsticks out there. You can keep on swiping on your lips to play up the plum red and while it does leave pigment on everything your lips brush against, it’s a very moisturizing lip balm.

(Ingredients: Ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, cera alba (beeswax), ethyl palmate*, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil*, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, sorbitan tristearate, theobroma cacao (cocoa seed butter, behenyl behenate, euphorbia cerifera cera (candelilla) wax, mica, copernicia cerifera, titanium dioxide, manganese violet, iron oxides, ammonium glycyrrhizate, tocopherol (vitamin E), daucus carota sativa (carrot) root extract.)

And Neutrogena Naturals Lip Balm ($2.99 at Target) is an affordable natural lip balm that is both moisturizing and glossy-looking on lips. It’s plain, unscented and a very no-fuss lip balm. The Neutrogena Naturals Lip Balm is perfect for lip balm enthusiasts who don’t like any fragrance and other frivolous ingredients.

(Ingredients: Beeswax, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Flavor, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol)

I absolutely recommend these two lip balms to any lip balm addicts out there. You might even be able to finish them because they’re just that good!

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

Leave a Reply

