Review: Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm SPF 25 or Diary of a Lip Balm Addict: Saga Part One

Leave a comment
Beauty

Hey hey, come a little closer and I’ll tell you a secret about me.

I am obsessed with lip balms. Yes yes I know, you are judging me for accumulating over 30 lip balms over the past couple of years, but I can’t stop. It also might be a problem that I can never locate more than 2 lip balms in a 5 feet radius around my person because I keep losing them. Which means I have to buy more..and then of course lose them eventually. When I was in Junior High, my mom gifted me a multi-pack of Lip Smackers lip balm, which I promptly used and abandoned all 8 of them in about a week. Anyway, there’s something about intrinsically darling about the function and form of lip balms that just tickles me in the right way.

Product: Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm SPF 25 in Black Tea and Blackberry Scent, 0.25 oz.

Jack Black - Intense Therapy Lip Balm SPF 25

Ingredients: Octinoxate 7.5%, Avobenzone 3.0%. Natural Mint, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii Fruit), Avocado (Persea Gratissima) Oil, Green Tea (Camellia Sinensis) Leaf Extract, Tocopeheryl Acetate (vitamin E).

Thoughts: I bought this lip balm in Black Tea and Blackberry because Black Tea is an ingredient I get excited about in beauty goods and of course in its original drinkable form. (Psssst, remember I said I can never find my various lip balms? I had to dig around for a good half hour to find the Jack Black Lip Balm). Jack Black has the Black Tea flavor down right I am pleased to say. There is a tangy, acid-like bitterness that you can only get from tea and I find myself licking my lips when I have this on. Of course it never truly satisfies you like a good cuppa, but this lip balm does it quite well.

The gel-like consistency of the lip balm, as you can see from the picture, sets it apart from its solid lip balm counterparts. This may be the only thing I don’t like about the Jack Black Lip Balm. The lip balm sets like pancake syrup on your lips! Sometimes I feel uncomfortable after awhile because I don’t have any actual pancakes in the vicinity of my mouth. Also, I find that it doesn’t do a good job of hydrating my lips. When I finally swipe it off my lips because I can’t stand it anymore, I find my lips very dry as if all that Shea Butter listed in the ingredient list has not done its job right. My lips look glossy but for some weird reason, it just feels matte.

Oh if only Jack Black made a solid lip balm that was more moisturizing and still flavored with Black Tea. I know I would be first in line to buy that. But for now, this Jack Black lip balm is a bit disappointing and I’m only keeping it for the Black Tea flavor.

Purchased: $7.50 at Sephora.com

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

Leave a Reply

