Review: Yu-Be Foaming Skin Polish

Leave a comment
Beauty

I don’t usually indulge in body scrubs even though I know people get really excited about them, especially during the summertime. Sugar, salt, almond, walnut, and dancing fairies (you never know) seem to appear in all sorts of body scrubs. Body scrubs are messy and they usually end up everywhere on my bathtub floor. But I do occasionally use Yu-Be’s Foaming Skin Polish Face & Body Scrub if I find my dry flaky skin too unbearable to look at anymore.

Product: Yu-Be Foaming Skin Polish, 7 oz. tube

Ingredients: Water, Decyl Glucoside, Polyethylene, Juglans Regia (Walnut) Shell Powder, PEG 120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Bambusa Arundinacea (Bamboo) Stem Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Ginger Root Extract, Camphor, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Triethanolamine, Dehydroacetic Acid, Benzyl Alcohol.

Yu-Be - Foaming Skin Polish

Thoughts: Yu-Be boasts a sulfate and paraben-free face and body scrub that is foamy and hydrating at the same time. The primary ingredient for exfoliation is the inclusion of rice bran and other ingredients such as Camphor, Green Tea, and Geranium oil for hydration. The product is called “Foaming Skin Polish” but I find it takes at least a healthy dollop of product to get it to foam up properly. I believe this is a good thing though, super-foamy products are usually that way because sodium laureth sulfate is added in and sulfates are drying on the skin.

I find the rice bran grains are small (about the size of sand grains) but hard granules that is unsuited for sensitive skin types. I have acne so I experienced a bit of bleeding once after scrubbing a bit too hard. If you have sensitive, blemished skin I caution you against rubbing this scrub roughly onto your face. Camphor is very soothing for calming irritation and the herbal, medicine-like smell is quite nice after getting used to it, but I’m not loving the rice bran grains. Also, the rice bran grains are hard to wash off. When washing my face normally at a sink, it takes awhile for me to rinse off everything because the grains keep on getting stuck on my face! I find that using this scrub while showering is a much better experience because the shower spray rinses everything off quickly.

I think the Yu-Be Foaming Skin Polish is best suited as a scrub mainly for the body. All in all, the Yu-Be Foaming Skin Polish is quite foamy and a good product for exfoliating your body. I think I would pass on buying it again, and instead purchase a more gentle exfoliating scrub. I still have 3/4ths of my tube left because I’m not a huge fan of the product.

Purchased: $18 at Sephora.com (Note: this product can only be purchased on the Sephora website or on the Yu-Be website)

The Author

Brooklyn-based natural and organic beauty writer.

Leave a Reply

